Midnight Thief – Livia Blackburne

Hey!

I just finished Midnight Thief by Livia Blackburne, and it just jumped up to my top three favorites list. The top three favorites are the top book I’ve recently read and are currently raving over, before I fall for another book that knocks the first one off the list. Right now, the list consists of The 5th wave by Rick Yancey, The Young Elites by Marie Lu and now Midnight Thief. That’s right – I’m giving it ten stars!!! Ten well deserved stars.

I actually picked this one up because I have received an ARC  for the second book in the series, Daughter of Dusk, which comes out in August and I can’t wait to read and review before that. Have faith in the giveaway system, people, someone’s got to win. The book honestly looked amazing, and I was so glad I won. I was so excited when I got it – I was practically dancing around the house. As soon as I had it, I picked up Midnight Thief.

I really lucked out.

This is a fantasy YA novel, and I recommend it to fans of the Young Elites by Marie Lu. They had the same dark feeling, where you don’t know who you can trust and there is betrayal all around in a compelling fantasy novel.

The goodreads summary: Growing up on Forge’s streets has taught Kyra how to stretch a coin. And when that’s not enough, her uncanny ability to scale walls and bypass guards helps her take what she needs.

But when the leader of the Assassins Guild offers Kyra a lucrative job, she hesitates. She knows how to get by on her own, and she’s not sure she wants to play by his rules. But he’s persistent—and darkly attractive—and Kyra can’t quite resist his pull.

Tristam of Brancel is a young Palace knight on a mission. After his best friend is brutally murdered by Demon Riders, a clan of vicious warriors who ride bloodthirsty wildcats, Tristam vows to take them down. But as his investigation deepens, he finds his efforts thwarted by a talented thief, one who sneaks past Palace defenses with uncanny ease.

When a fateful raid throws Kyra and Tristam together, the two enemies realize that their best chance at survival—and vengeance—might be to join forces. And as their loyalties are tested to the breaking point, they learn a startling secret about Kyra’s past that threatens to reshape both their lives.

Sounds great, right?

It is. It really, really is.

Non spoiler review: If you haven’t read this book yet, I don’t know what you’re still doing here. You should be running to your bookstore and picking it up. This is the perfect read for fans of dark fantasy. Kyra is a talented thief who engrossed me into her story. I fell for the leading guys, I supported Kyra and understood her, and I still want to know what happens next (enter Daughter of Dusk. And did you know there’s a novella called Poison Dance about James? Awesome, right?). Basically, it comes recommended. Now go read it. Now.

Spoiler review: Okay, can someone please explain to me why I fell so hard for James?

I mean, I usually fall for the bad guys, so that may explain it. I don’t know why, there’s something about them that just makes the story so good. And James was no exception. Throughout the novel I was trying to figure out if I could trust him or not.

From the very beginning I knew James was falling for Kyra, and Kyra was falling for James. And for a while, that seemed the story was heading for a love triangle with James and Flick. But then Tirstam came in the picture, and it was pretty clear they started falling for each other too. I’m still rooting for James, even though he’s their prisoner now, you never know where his alliance’s are headed. Seriously, that guy cannot be trusted.

But neither can Tistam. In the beginning of the book, I was sure Kyra was fighting the evil palace with the guild. But Kyra both started noticing fishy things at the same time. But I still didn’t expect the guild to be working for the demon riders, the demon riders to be shape shifters and actually be Makvani and not human, and for James to try to turn Kyra into an assassin. Did that plot twist shock anybody else? I knew something fantasy-like had to happen in a YA fantasy, but I didn’t expect it to turn out the way it did.

I have to admit, I hated Tristam in the beginning. I thought he was just out to hurt Kyra, and he was one of those evil castle people. I had this beginning assumption that the castle was bad, the demon riders were the worst, and the guild had good intentions but they were just making things worse by being violent and they were going to get Kyra into trouble. What I found out – I was right about the guild being violent and getting Kyra into trouble, but the truth is I don’t know who’s good or bad. The palace and the kingdom is cruel to its people, but worse than the guild would be if they took over? I doubt it. And all the Makvani care about is themselves, and they’re basically a group that idolizes themselves and treats humans like animals. I felt like they were treating Kyra how we would treat a mermaid if we ever found out about one; society would split into two groups – one that would wish to put her on display in an aquarium and treat her like a fish, and another half that would demand she be treated like a human and use her to get dirt on the sea-life. But I loved that there was no clear good in this. Everyone had a theory about how they should live, and they all executed it horribly. Poor Kyra just wants to make a living, and she gets swept up into all of James’s nonsense, ends up working with Tristam in the palace and finds out she’s part Makvani. That’s got to suck.

But there is something I didn’t like in this – I didn’t feel like we got enough of Flick. When he was introduced in the beginning he was this huge part of the story and her life, and I was sure they were going to be a thing at some point. But then Kyra joined Tirstam and all of a sudden he became this tiny detail that no one really cared about. That kind of annoyed me. It also bothered me that he was the least bit interesting of the three guys Kyra’s dealing with. I wanted him to b a stronger part of her, since he is her human past, but he’s barely mentioned once she finds out she’s Makvani, and only gets one more scene in the epilogue. At least James was this big part of the story after she left him, even if she hadn’t seen him in a while. Flick just seemed to leave the spotlight.

One more thing I have to discuss – Bella. Why did she have to die? Why? She was sweet and innocent and wasn’t part of any of this. The only thing that she was guilty of was being a good person. But that’s how these books get you. The good, innocent ones have to die.

Who’s your favorite? Tristam/James/Flick?

Leave a Reply

