Seraphina: The Audition (Seraphina prequel short story – Rachel Hartman)

Now that I finished Seraphina, I really want to read the second book, Shadow Scale. But I was on goodreads, as I often am, and found a prequel short story called The Audition! So of course I was like YES. Then I read the goodreads summary: The Audition is a free prequel to Seraphina available online. It takes place a few weeks prior to Seraphina, covering Seraphina Dombegh’s audition to become Viridius’s assistant and thus Glisselda’s music tutor.

So, yet again, I was like YES!!!

Obviously, after I loved Seraphina so much I just had to find it and read it.

Since it’s a short story based off of a book, I’m going to do this a little differntly. First of all, I’m giving this the same rating as I’m giving the novel it’s based off, which is nine stars. It’s reccomended for any fans of the novel, or any of the books I recommended to read if you liked it (Graceling by Kristin Cashore, Eragon by Christopher Poliani, The Dark Elements by Jennifer L. Aremntrout, The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare).

I’m just going to give a none spoiler-review since it was so short. It was really cute, and funny. That’s all there really is to say, but I loved it because I loved the book. That’s why I’m going to reccomend it be read only be fans of the book, because to me it was really about seeing the charecters I loved in the world I loved before the story started. Although, the story doesn’t have any spoilers, so people who have not yet read Seraphina can read it before they read the book.

That’s all for now! Tell me what you think about it!

Leave a Reply

