The Queen (a Selection novella) – Kiera Cass

Hi all!

I just read The Queen, a prequel novella for The Selction about Queen Amberly’s selection wth King Clarkson.

Summary (goodreads):Before America Singer’s story began, another girl came to the palace to compete for the hand of a different prince….

Don’t miss this digital original novella set in the captivating world of Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series. This prequel story takes place before the events of The Selection and is told from the point of view of Prince Maxon’s mother, Amberly. Discover a whole new Selection with this inside look at how Maxon’s parents met—and how an ordinary girl named Amberly became a beloved queen.

Now, I love The Selection seires. I think it’s cute and romantic in an awesome dystopean setting, and I can’t wait to read The Heir. However, the serirs’s only fault in my opinion is its annoying charecters. America Singer was so incredibly indecesisive. But I liked her better than I liked Amberly. I don’t want to spoil it, so all I’m going to say is that the charecters I hated from the books became no less annoying in this, and it felt too short. I wanted more about the story, and I felt like it started in the middle and ended in the middle. I know it’s a novella, and it’s supposed to be short, I just think Amberly’s selection is such a big topic it’s too long to write in  a novella suffeciently. But this is for fans of the selection. I loved it anyways, because I loved the selection world, I got some questions anwered about Maxon’s parents and I learned more about them. If you loved The Selection, it’s really recommened, but I don’t recommend reading it before The Selection. Not because of spoilers, it’s just easier to get into when you know and love the world. I’m giving this an 8.5. It’s a YA dystopea, but it’ also royal YA, so I recommend it to readers of other royal YA like Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, and dystopea fans like Divergent b y Veronica Roth (instead of being forced to make your own choices like in Divergent, in The Selection you are not allowed to choose, so that’s an intresting world for Divergent fans to get into).
Spoiler review: Warning:  will also spoil The Selection series, so if you have note read The Selection, The Elite and The One by Kiera Cass, go read them and read this later 🙂

So Amberly and Clarkson. Didn’t like them in The Selection, didn’t like them in The Queen. Amberly is weak, spineless, and in love with someone who is clearly emotinally unstable, but she is too love sick to see. This woman literally does everything Clarkson asks her to. Clarkson, who suffers from having to stand his parents fight every minute, has completly understandable issues. The thing is, he still should wake up and realize that beating your son is not okay, and the solution for all of his problems is not to marry a doormat. But he does whatever he can to find a doormat to marry, and Amberly is willing to let him walk all over her.

What I did like – diving back into the world of The Selection. I love that world. I also loved all of the answers we got about Amberly and Clarkson. We understand why Clarkson beats Maxon, we understand the headachs, which kind of confused me during the books, the misciarriges and Maxon being an only child. I also loved that Amberly and America felt like differnet people. Sometimes, when authors right novellas about side charecters, they sound a lot like the main charecter. But Amberly and America are very differnet people, and it really showed. But it also proved that with all of America’s faults, at least she was better than Abmberly.

What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

