The Memory Key – Liana Liu

Hey

The Memory Key is science fiction young adult novel. I give it 8.5 stars, and recommend it to fans of Divergent by Veronica Roth.

Goodreads summary: In a five-minutes-into-the-future world, a bereaved daughter must choose between losing memories of her mother to the haze of time and the reality-distorting, visceral pain of complete, perfect recall.

Lora Mint is determined not to forget.

Though her mother’s been dead for five years, Lora struggles to remember every detail about her—most importantly, the specific events that occurred the night she sped off in her car, never to return.

But in a world ravaged by Vergets disease, a viral form of Alzheimer’s, that isn’t easy. Usually Lora is aided by her memory key, a standard-issue chip embedded in her brain that preserves memories just the way a human brain would. Then a minor accident damages Lora’s key, and her memories go haywire. Suddenly Lora remembers a moment from the night of her mother’s disappearance that indicates her death was no accident. Can she trust these formerly forgotten memories? Or is her ability to remember every painful part of her past driving her slowly mad—burying the truth forever?

So doesn’t that sound great?

You probably suspected two things from this summary, both which turn out to be correct. One, this is a mystery. Two, this has all these cool kinds of futuristic technology. This a quick read; I read it in a day. I really liked it; it was intriguing and interesting and entertaining.  That’s all I can really say without spoiling since it is a mystery, but you should read it. You should.

Spoilers – Okay, who else is mind blown from this book?

Her mom is alive. I guess I should have seen that coming, but I didn’t. I thought she was going to be murdered for sure, which almost happened. The fact that Austin knew and was the one that put her in the retirement home in the first place surprised me even more. I did not see any of these major twists coming, which was great and annoying at the same time. I loved the action, and the questionable-ness of the new technology.

The world itself was cool. I love the concept of memory keys and the disease. I thought it was a really unique concept and you don’t see a lot of mystery and contemporary freindships and boy drama in these sceince fiction books, which I thought was great.

And the writing. The writing. I loved the descriptions of the thoughts and the memories. I could understand the thought process and it made it feel real.

Leave a Reply

