Wings – Aprilynne Pike

Hi!

I just finished Wings, which  is a Young Adult Paranormal Novel. I enjoyed it, and I recommend it to fans of Jennifer L. Armentrout and Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. I give it eight stars.

Summary (Goodreads): Laurel was mesmerized, staring at the pale things with wide eyes. They were terrifyingly beautiful—too beautiful for words.

Laurel turned to the mirror again, her eyes on the hovering petals that floated beside her head. They looked almost like wings.

In this extraordinary tale of magic and intrigue, romance and danger, everything you thought you knew about faeries will be changed forever.

Non spoiler review: This book really is recommended. I admit I didn’t fall absolutely in love with it, but the characters and the world building was great and I plan to read the second book. The summary is right when it says that everything you thought you knew about faeries will change forever. This book had such an interesting take on faeries, and it is so unique. Not to mention there are two hot boys for you to fall in love with, both very different. So go read it, come back when you’re done!

Spoiler review: Okay, I need to discuss these faeries. They’re just so different than anything I’ve ever read about! First of all, they’re plants. Fun fact about me: I get really creeped out from unnatural biology stuff, like cloning. I can’t stand the thought of it. So when I read that this girl is a walking, talking plant, it was really creepy. But I eventually got used to the idea as I was engrossed in the story and the world.

I liked Laurel as a protagonist.  She didn’t really stand out to me as a really brave or strong character, which on the one hand wasn’t great but on the other hand made her feel like a real teenager who is realizing she isn’t who she always thought she was, so her personality works for and against the novel. The best characters were definitely the guys. They had both brought me to their teams. I don’t know if I fell in love with them, but there was a little book crush on both. David was funny and sweet and caring, but Tamani is the typical character that would make me melt – mysterious and different and so in love with Laurel. They were the best things in the novel, in my opinion, on top of that awesome world building!

I remember from the first chapter that they waited to introduce the world, it was mostly how different she was when she met David. It made me think the book would be a little more romantic than it was, since they were presenting the romance as the main theme. But I did know that something was different about that girl. I don’t know if I loved this beginning approach, but I quickly understood how it worked.

Basically, Laurel is the most interesting scientific creature to ever be written about and I enjoyed reading about it!

Leave a Reply

