Night School 4 – Resistance: C.J. Daugherty

Hi!

The Night School series is one of my favorites, and this did not disappoint! The fourth installment of the Mystery/Thriller YA series by British author C.J. Daugherty, I have to say this was above and beyond all I could expect. The fifth book just came out, so keep your eyes peeled! I give this ten stars, and recommend to to fans of Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard, for the mystery/thriller element.

Summary (goodreads): After months on the run, Allie returns to Cimmeria Academy to find the school in turmoil. The atmosphere is thick with danger. Overshadowing it all is Nathaniel. He is close – very close – to getting everything he wants.

A secret civil war is tearing the British political elite apart. And Allie’s family is in the thick of it. Both sides want her. She knows Nathaniel will take her by any means necessary. But she is determined to fight him to the end.

Her friends are ready to stand by her – even to die for her. But if anything happens to them she won’t be able to live with herself.

The fightback starts here. Everything is at stake now. The winner takes all…

Non spoiler review: This book is amazing, plain and simple. This whole series is incredible and I know I say that often but I really do mean it.  There is a love triangle, but it is a great one with great characters. After reading about Sylvain I’m on his team, but after reading about Carter I’m on his team too, so I completely understand what Allie was going through, even though at one point it becomes painfully obvious who she will chose well before she even knows it. But there’s much more to this book than love. Reading it was like a roller coaster; you go up, knowing something is going to happen but not sure what, and then you go down even faster than you thought possible. There are plot twists, relationship dramas, and truly exhilarating plot points.

Spoiler review: Warning – this will probably spoil the rest of the series too, so do not read this until you have reached this point in the series.

There are so many things I want to talk about I don’t even know where to begin. So much happened! I think I have to start with Sylvain and Carter. I’m a little conflicted to which I love most. Of course by the end of the book when she chose Carter I was really happy about it, but I was really happy when she got together with Sylvain in the first place. Besides, she should have realized she was actually in love with Carter. In the third book I wasn’t sure, but when she couldn’t say I love you to Sylvain I think it was pretty clear.

Next, Rachel. I really want to know what’s up with her! I’m kind of bummed she’s keeping secrets that only Nichole can know about, and I really hope that whole thing is cleared up in the fifth book. But all of the sudden she’s in Night School when she spent the first three books hating it? She has a secret boyfriend? What’s up with that girl?!

Now that the main characters are out of the way; the plot points. Wow. I loved each and every one of them. I didn’t see most of them coming, like Lucinda dying? The whole Nathaniel is after her thing? The break ins? Jerry??? (that last one really was a great plot twist, I kind of had a feeling it was him but I still had doubts). It really was a fun, exciting read. I can’t believe there was so much action in one book. It didn’t feel so long. How did so much happen???

What did bother me, though, is Allie’s friends when Allie decided that she was going to the meeting with Nathaniel. First of all, for all they knew only Allie would be allowed to go, which is what happened sort of (okay, so Allie and one other friend, but not the whole group). It really was none of their business, only Allie’s. If they want to go it’s their decision, but no one was making them. And the surprise attack thing was useful on the one hand, but it gave the feeling that they were all ganging up on her and that’s just mean. I’m with Allie on this one, even though she apologizes later I still think she was right.

Last thing – that ending!!! They got Carter! After he promised to never leave her! Cimmeria will look for him because its Cimmeria and they don’t leave any man behind, but it may take awhile. This is going to destroy Allie, and it’s giving me the feels too. Hopefully he’ll come back soon. I wonder if Allie will break up with Sylvain if he comes back before Carter does. We’ll see. Make sure to look for Endgame. By the way, the author has teamed up with the director of the book trailer’s to make a six episode web series for the books 🙂 . There’s a youtube channel for them, so be sure to check them out if they’re still online!

Leave a Reply

