Crescendo – Hush Hush 2: Becca Fitzpatrick

Hi all!

Crescendo is the second book in the awesome Hush Hush Saga by Becca Fitzpatrick, a YA paranormal romance.

Summary (Goodreads):Nora Grey’s life is still far from perfect. Surviving an attempt on her life wasn’t pleasant, but at least she got a guardian angel out of it. A mysterious, magnetic, gorgeous guardian angel. But despite his role in her life, Patch has been acting anything but angelic. He’s more elusive than ever (if that’s possible) and what’s worse, he seems to be spending time with Nora’s archenemy, Marcie Millar.

Nora would have hardly noticed Scott Parnell, an old family friend who has moved back to town, if Patch hadn’t been acting so distant. Even with Scott’s totally infuriating attitude, Nora finds herself drawn to him – despite her lingering feelings that he is hiding something.

If that weren’t enough, Nora is haunted by images of her murdered father, and comes to question whether her Nephilim bloodline has anything to do with his death. Desperate to figure out what happened, she puts herself in increasingly dangerous situations to get the answer. But maybe some things are better left buried, because the truth could destroy everything – and everyone – she trusts.

Non spoiler review: I’m giving this book 8.5 stars because I really liked it a lot. It had its hilarious moments, and its very dramatic moments that kept me gaping throughout. It is reccomened to all Jennifer L. Armentrout fans. Nora Gray is a little plain, but she’s sure got an intresting life. The world building is a little more comolictaed then you’d expect and it’s a little hard to follow along sometimes with all the plot twists, but they defintily keep you on your toes. It’s a lot of fun to dive into this world. If you haven’t read these books yet and love paranormal romance, I definitly think you should give this a go. I already baught the third book and I can’t wait to read it!

Spoiler review: Warning – will also spoil Hush Hush:

Favorite lines: “You killed my father! Well, this is awkward.” “You’re a phsycopath! I prefer creative.” Honestly, I didn’t start suspecting Rioxon until closer to the end. I mean I knew he killed her dad before Nora did, and before that he was my favorite charecter so that was  a bummer (even though he still has the best sense of humor), but during most of the novel I never saw it coming. Did anyone? It all makes sense now that I know it’s him, but while I was reading all I knew is that there was no way it was Patch.

Speaking of Patch – there were points when I loved him and points when I hated him. I hated him in the begining, when all he had to do was send a text saying “sorry about before, the archangles were watching and now I’m Marcy Miller’s gaurdien because I’m falling in love with you and that will send me to hell.” He didn’t have to keep all the secrets and start going out with Marcy; he was being mean and he deserved to get dumped. Nora, on the other hand, didn’t deserve it at all. But there were times when I loved Patch; like when he told the truth and every time he said anything remotely funny. I could always count on good old Patch and Rixon to bring in the humor.

And how about Hank Miller? Who saw that one coming? Again, it explains a lot, but who would have thought Marcy and Nora are atually sisters? But what I can’t figure out is that if he has a different name, why go with Hank? It doesn’t really fit in anymore. I guess it used to, but not so much now. He should go with something really common like John.

One more thing I have to discuss is Scottie the Hottie. He’s a fun guy, isn’t he? A hot mess, but a good guy towards the end when we understand all the secrets. His beginning, along with the book’s beginning for me, was really boring. But then all these secrets started coming out that made it all better, Scott’s included. I already knew he was Niphilim, but the secret society thing was a really great addition to the book’s drama. I hope to see more of him in the next book. After all, I have an opening for favorite charecter 🙂

Leave a Reply

