The Witch Hunter – Virginia Boecker

Hey!

I need to start off by thanking goodreads for supplying me with an ARC for this wonderful novel. I loved it so much, and I’m giving it nine out of ten stars! The Witch Hunter is an alternative historical novel, as well as a YA fantasy. It’s recommended for fans of Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, Graceling by Kristin Cashore and The Young Elites by Marie Lu.

Summary (Goodreads): Your greatest enemy isn’t what you fight, but what you fear.

Elizabeth Grey is one of the king’s best witch hunters, devoted to rooting out witchcraft and doling out justice. But when she’s accused of being a witch herself, Elizabeth is arrested and sentenced to burn at the stake.

Salvation comes from a man she thought was her enemy. Nicholas Perevil, the most powerful and dangerous wizard in the kingdom, offers her a deal: he will save her from execution if she can break the deadly curse that’s been laid upon him.

But Nicholas and his followers know nothing of Elizabeth’s witch hunting past–if they find out, the stake will be the least of her worries. And as she’s thrust into the magical world of witches, ghosts, pirates, and one all-too-handsome healer, Elizabeth is forced to redefine her ideas of right and wrong, of friends and enemies, and of love and hate.

Non spoiler review: I enjoyed so many things about this book. First of all, the world building: it takes place in alternative sixteenth century England, where a witch hunter is accused of being a witch herself. Many of the creatures are very interesting to read about, as are their characters. It expresses many points of view on good and evil, and allegiances will be tested. This is definitely recommended.

Spoiler review: Who else was rooting for George and Elizabeth?

I mean don’t get me wrong, I love John, but not as much as I love George. George was the best character, being as snarky as he is, and I would have loved to seen a relationship develop with him. I felt him becoming more and more of a minor character after a while, and that was a real shame. Other than that, all of the characters were great in their own way.

I liked what happened with Caleb. I was worried she’d go with him at first, or that they’d get together, but I don’t think that’s happening. But I’m also glad he wasn’t going to let her just die. However, he was trying Blackwell way too much when he said she would be fine, since she did get jail fever that would have killed her if Nicholas hadn’t broken her out. He shouldn’t have just trusted Blackwell to make sure she’d be okay, but a part of me does understand him because Caleb trusts Blackwell.

I was actually surprised to find out Blackwell was a wizard. I liked that I didn’t see a lot of the plot twists coming, and I thought that this was a very plot driven book. Blackwell being a wizard put a whole new level on the dark, hypocritical aspect of him.

Leave a Reply

