Daughter of Dusk (Midnight Thief 2 – Livia Blackburne) – Spoiler review

Hi!

If you’ve missed my Midnight Thief review https://mollyeyablog.wordpress.com/2015/05/21/midnight-thief-livia-blackburne/ or my none spoiler review for Daughter of Dusk https://mollyeyablog.wordpress.com/2015/05/24/daughter-of-dusk-midnight-thief-2-livia-blackburne-none-spoiler-review/ be sure to check those out.

This is a SPOILER REVIEW of Daughter of Dusk, so only continue if you’ve read the book. You’ve been warned.

So first of all, let’s talk about James. He was my favorite. Why did he have to die? Seriously, why? I mean I know why, Kyra didn’t want him to die under public torture. But I still didn’t want him to die. I was really upset about that.

Speaking of things I’m upset about, I need to talk about Leyus. How dare he? I mean, he’s her father! He didn’t even bother telling her! And when she found out, he told her that his relationship with her mother is none of her business. It’s definitely her business! It’s her parents, she has the right to know about their relationship. I think he was a horrible father to her. He comes in right before she goes to attack and gives her one piece of advice, and he thinks he’s off the hook. Since she figured it out he’s done nothing but criticize her, and I don’t like him.

But on the bright side – we found out who Kyra’s parents are!!! I actually like the name Kayara better than Kyra, but that’s because Kyara isn’t a really common name.

Tristam – ahh, Tristam. He was my second favorite, after James. I feel really bad for everyone involved with these mirage negotiations. Tristam, because he’s thinking about marrying a girl he doesn’t love. Kyr, because the man she loves wants to amrry someone else. Cecile, because she wants to marry a man who loves someone else. It’s really a no win situation, accept for the families. I’m glad Tristam figures out he’s meant to be with Kyra and proposes to her. I was really happy about that.

I love when James tells her to choose her fight. Usually when we hear this we think prioritize, but in the book it’s a little different. It means pick a goal, and do whatever you can to achieve it. Kyra takes James’s goal and finds her own way to achieve it after his death, a way that works. It showed Kyra’s leadership skills, and I think she should have shoved her victory in Leyas’s face.

One of my favorite things about these books is that we don’t know who we can trust. We have a better idea of the characters in this book though, because it’s mainly about what Kyra does with that knowledge. But there are still the moral questions raised, like is it okay to kill people if it will save them eventually?

Willem. I hated Willem. He walked around acting like he was the king, but he was only head of the council. He stepped on whoever he had to in order to get to the top. He deserved to go down. Go Kyra!

Overall, I give this book ten stars. I really loved it!

Leave a Reply

