Champion – Marie Lu

Hi!

Marie Lu is by far one of my favorite authors, considering both of her series (Legend and The Young Elites) are some of the best books I have ever read. I had highly anticipated reading this book for a very long time, and I am so happy I did! It was an amazing conclusion to a wonderful series, and I give it ten stars! It is dystopean, and recommended to fans of Divergent by Veronica Roth.

Summary (Goodreads): Warning – will spoil the rest of the Legend series:

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

Non spoiler review: What a great conclusion to the series! I mean was this my favorite out of the three? No. But it was still one of the best book’s I’ve ever read. Marie Lu manages to have the perfect amount of action (reads like a movie action), romance, political drama and quotes about society to make a great dystopea. If you haven’t read the series yet, or just haven’t had a chance to pick up the third book, I seriously recommend you run to the book store right now and get it.

Spoiler review: There are so many things I want to discuss I don’t even know where to start,  but I guess I’ll stay simple; the plot. There were times where I thought there was a little too much action, but better too much than too little. I love that each book has its own arc, and even though I’d love to see more of them in their situations in the first and second book their roles in the third book were very fun to read about, with June as a politician and Day as a spokesperson. Although I think they are both better as soldier’s and tacticians, they both did an amazing job with the roles they were given. I’m so glad they joined forces and worked together towards the middle, because I do not like that they were apart for eight months. I think Day needed to tell June about his illness, but at least she found out.

World building – I loved all the detail about the war, the colonies, Africa and Antarctica (especially Antarctica). I thought it was one of the more intriguing aspects of the novel and it sucked me in.

Main characters: I really think June and Day grew as people over the course of the series and the novel, and I was glad to see them as they are now. They really found what the jobs right for them and each contributed to protecting what they cared about, whether it was their country or each other. June and Day are both great characters. Day is a sexy charmer and a true hero, and June is a strong female who knows how to get what she wants. I really felt like I got to know these characters. Both of their strong voices together make a great team.

There are three minor characters I have to discuss, and they are Thomas, Tess and Eden. I hate Thomas for what he did to Metias, especially considering they were in love. I do think Thomas loved Metias, he just loved his country more. He needed to see that the country he swore to protect had crossed the line, just as June and Metias did. There is no reason to fight to the death for something that destroys what you love instead of saves it.

I hated Tess in Prodigy, but she really redeemed herself in Champion. She realized she couldn’t have Day and understood that she did have herself, and she really matured because of it.

I always loved Eden, but it was more adoration than love until Champion. In Champion we really see him grow up, make his own decisions and take risks for other people. He is becoming more and more like Day, but I also enjoyed seeing him grow into his own person.

Political message: I thought comparing the elector of The Republic to the ruling corporations and the chancellor in The Colonies was really interesting, because, as June brilliantly points out, “absolute power is absolute power.” In Legend and Prodigy, June and Day give The Colonies such high hopes for fixing the problems with The Republic, but when they realize The Colonies are just as bad they hope for Anden to be the answer, and they spend most of the book fighting not only to keep The Republic, the country they loathe, but the chance for a better future alive, which does in fact come in the end of Champion.

I did have a few problems with this book: I felt there was a little overuse of the action and politics, and although I loved those aspects of the novel I missed some of the human relationships that were in the first two books. Champion was less feelings and more technical, while the rest of the series had a better balance of the two. However, there is also good to that in a way; it was exciting and alerting, with very few boring points.

The ending: Day lives! No matter what, I told myself that that is the most important part. I didn’t like the memory loss, it was incredibly frustrating, but it did add power to the novel. I understand why it was necessary, and I had begun to accept it – until I read the epilogue. That made it all worth it. She had a brief romance with Anden, which I knew was coming, but it was nothing compared to what she had with Day. And, ten years later, there is finally a chance of the two getting that back. I like to believe that they got married and had badass children together. Marie Lu said in the acknowledgments “I think they’re going to be okay”, and I think so too. I really do.

The world’s ending was great. I loved that there is peace, and the middle portion of the country is The United States. And The Colonies rebuilt New York!  I couldn’t have asked for anything more (except for maybe Day never losing his memory, but you can’t get everything).

2 thoughts on “Champion – Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

