Vanishing Girls – Lauren Oliver

Vanishing Girls is a contemporary/physiological thriller by Lauren Oliver (author of the Delirium series, as well as stand-alones like Before I Fall and Panic). I absolutely loved it, and give it ten stars. It’s recommended to fans of All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven and Elanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell.

Summary (Goodreads): Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara’s beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged. When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it’s too late.

Non spoiler review: This book was absolutely amazing! The characters were deep, realistic and compelling, and they drew me into their stories. It was well written in a very interesting style. The end blew my mind (not in the way Red Queen did, but close). There isn’t much else to say about it besides its one of my new favorites, and if you haven’t read it yet you really need to pick it up.

Spoiler review:

I need to start with the ending, because that’s the part that stuck with me the most, obviously. I loved it before I reached the ending. I loved the dynamics between Dara and Nick, and their own personalities were gripping. I had absolutely no idea Dara was dead. She had me going the entire time. I feel that I need to reread it, just to be able to point out to myself all the things I should have missed or to point out things that you would think are true, but are actually not as they seem. It took me a while to register that she was actually dead, because it was so well done it didn’t even make sense. Lauren Oliver, you are a genius.

As I said, I loved Dara and Nick. Dara was dark, and her character was intriguing. Nick was a strong narrator, and both girls had a great voice. I enjoyed them both, and I was actually very upset when I found out Dara was dead. But not too upset, because it was just that amazing it took away the pain of losing Dara was a character.

I hated the parents. I hated them in the beginning, when they didn’t think of Nick (although I suppose Dara being on their minds constantly makes sense now), but the fact that they had no idea Nick thought her sister was alive proves that they neglected their daughter, and they should have been able to tell something was up.

There isn’t much else to say about it. It was incredible, and I loved the way it all came together. it worked well with Madison, and Nick and Parker were my OTP throughout. It was just amazing.

Leave a Reply

