Throne of Glass-Sarah J. Maas

Hey!

I haven’t blogged in awhile (busy), but I’m happy to say I’m back with Throne of Glass, which has got to have jumped to the status of my favorite books of all time. Yes, it was amazing! Ten stars! I’m sure you’ve heard of this book, and of Sarah J. Maas, and you’ve probably read this before me . . . if you’ve seen my review of A Court of Thorns and Roses (link here – https://mollyeyablog.wordpress.com/2015/09/15/a-court-of-thorns-and-roses-sarah-j-maas/) you’ll know that I am now a Sarah J. Maas fan and I probably had high expectations for this book, which I did, and I have to say it topped all of them. It’s perfect for anyone who loves a good Fantasy, but recommended more specifically for fans of Graceling by Kristin Cashore. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

Summary (goodreads): When magic has gone from the world, and a vicious king rules from his throne of glass, an assassin comes to the castle. She does not come to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition to find the greatest assassin in the land, she will become the King’s Champion and be released from prison.

Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her.

And a princess from a foreign land will become the one thing Celaena never thought she’d have again: a friend.

But something evil dwells in the castle—and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying, horribly, one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival—and a desperate quest to root out the source of the evil before it destroys her world.

Non spoiler review: Let me just say, the goodreads synopsis does not do this book justice. I would say it would be better described as Action packed, fast paced novel about badass assassin brought to the palace by the crown prince  and the captain of the guard to participate in the king’s competition!!!! I mean the summary does make it sound great, but I really picked it up because it came so highly recommended and in my opinion the summary could have been a lot more compelling, and does not do it justice. So if you read the summary and you’re still a little hesitant, don’t be. Throne of Glass has the perfect fantasy package: Detailed, creative and exciting world building, a plot that won’t let you put it down and characters that you can’t help but fall in love with. I still don’t know who my favorite is. I was relieved when I saw I still had 200 pages left, and sad when I only had 100. I need the next installment as soon as possible. If for someone reason you haven’t given Throne of Glass a try yet, READ IT.

Spoiler review:

Okay, was anyone really able to choose between Dorian and Chaol? I mean really – Dorian and Chaol?

I have a friends who could. Some picked Chaol, some Dorian, which only proves that the ships for Throne of Glass vary for everyone and it’s no wonder I can’t decide which is mine – they’re both incredible! Dorian, the prince, has that light air around him that makes you want to smile every time he walks in the room and laugh at everything he says. Chaol, captain of the guard, on the other hand is very tough and serious – basically a total bad-boy with a sweet side. I mean, how do you choose between that?

It’s hard to say which of Sarah J. Maas’s books I liked better – Throne of Glass or A Court of Thrones and Roses. Interestingly enough, I think I prefer Throne of Glass, even though it’s the debut and her writing must have improved since. It’s darker, both love interests are lovable and I’d be happy with either of them, and the setting takes it home. I loved ACOTAR’s beauty and the beast fairy castle, but a teen assassin competing the king’s competition? It’s hard to follow that.

I saw an interview with Sarah J. Maas, where she said that Throne of Glass was inspired by Cinderella. I can see that. A prisoner in the salt mines, swept into the palace. And the ball scene. Of course the ball scene was all Cinderella, except Chaol and Dorian stole the show (as they always do).

I don’t have a lot of theories for the rest of the books, honestly. I had the same feeling when I finished ACOTAR; I have no idea what’s going to happen. Its set up so it could stand on its own, and now that it’s not . . . I have no idea what will happen. But I’m excited to find out 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

