Forever for a Year – B.T. Gottfred

I’ve recently won many books in various giveaways, one of them being Forever for a Year (you can expect many giveaway book reviews in the near future). Forever for a Year is a (young) YA contemporary, and I give it seven stars. It’s recommended to fans of Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell.

Summary (Goodreads): When Carolina and Trevor meet on their first day of school, something draws them to each other.  They gradually share first kisses, first touches, first sexual experiences.  When they’re together, nothing else matters. But one of them will make a choice, and the other a mistake, that will break what they thought was unbreakable. Both will wish that they could fall in love again for the first time . . . but first love, by definition, can’t happen twice.

I think I can describe all of my feelings for this book without spoiling it. I liked it, yes, but not a lot and I certainly didn’t love it.

What I liked: It was definitely an engrossing read. I couldn’t put it down. It’s good for anyone looking for a light, quick read, with a love story that definitely makes you gush and gives you all the feels, as well as complete honesty about the awkward and uncomfortable moments that come with first relationships.

What I didn’t like: My issue with this book mainly is that it has very mature content and very young voices. I’m not saying that 14 and 15 year old’s having sex is what struck me as odd, but what bothers me is these freshman both have the voices of eleven years old’s starting middle school, not high school. Neither Carolina nor Trevor were mature enough for their age, but they couldn’t be any younger or the sexual content wouldn’t work. I put young YA in the beginning because these characters definitely lack the maturity of the kids in older Young Adult books, and I’d classify this in the in-between sub genre between MG and YA. The writing was also very choppy and the sentences were often phrased awkwardly, but again, it is good for anyone looking for a quick, light read.

Leave a Reply

