Falling Kingdoms – Morgan Rhodes

Hey everyone!

I know it’s been awhile, but from now on I’m planning on posting more regularly. I don’t know about you, but I get my best reading done on the weekends. This time I finally got the chance (and the privilege) to read Falling Kingdoms, a YA fantasy of multiple point of view, and it definitely gets ten stars from me. Recommended to fans of Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin, and Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

Note: Morgan Rhodes just released a prequel short story called The Crimson Dagger, which is definitely worth checking out!

Goodreads summary:  In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

Non spoiler review:

Now, whenever I read a fantasy, I find that in order for it to work for me I have a few things that need to be there: Excellent plot, strong characters (with strong voices) and incredible world building. My favorite thing about Falling Kingdoms is the world building – the kingdoms of Mytica are loaded with drama, angry citizens, corrupt rulers that truly transfer you to another world. Mytica is not a place I would like to live in, but one I feel like I already know and would like to spend more time in (assuming I can avoid the rulers, of course).

Sometimes multiple point of views can be too jarring, but I didn’t find that to be true in Falling Kingdoms. Each character’s story was intriguing, and I loved how by the end, they all weaved together and were connected to one another. Each character is complex and worth getting to know.

The plot was more character based and focused on each person’s individual journey, which was fun to read about and never left me bored.

Falling Kingdoms is exciting and scandalous, and will satisfy your need for family drama as well as political intrigue. If you haven’t read this yet, pick it up.

Spoilers:

As much as I loved Falling Kingdoms, and I did love it, I had two main issues with it: The first was the same issue I had with The Mortal Instruments. The semi-incest plotline doesn’t really work for me, but I do recognize it was a key part of the story  necessary for Magnus’s story. It created mix emotions toward Magnus, even though he is one of my favorite characters. I found him to be the most complex, with the most going on in his life that shaped his personality and made him who he is. My other favorite is Cleo. I do believe she is strong and she is the best person in the book, and I’m excited to see what she does next.

My other issue was Lucia. She was my least favorite out of the four main characters. She had the weakest voice, and we knew her the least by the end of it. She’s a good person, but unlike Cleo, her role in the story doesn’t require a need of much personality, and I didn’t like that as much. I hope we learn more about her in the later books.

One of my favorite things in this book, as mentioned above, is how everything connects. The main characters meet each other, and the names we heard little about in the beginning are related to the biggest roles in the story by the end. I enjoyed every second of this novel. Let me know if you did too!

Leave a Reply

